4 Books like Game of Thrones

With all of the promos happening right now for the next season of Game of Thrones, I’ve got a hankering for books similar to A Song of Fire and Ice (the actual book series name of Game of Thrones). There are ways to fill the void as we wait for the TV series and wait (and wait and wait) for the next book of the series. I’m sure others are too, so I’ve pulled together four books like Game of Thrones for you to check out!

4 books like Game of Thrones: Malice by John Gwynne, Shadowmarch by Tad Williams, The Black Prism by Brent Weeks, and The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett | Puppies & Pretties

Four books like Game of Thrones

Malice by John Gwynne (The Faithful and the Fall series – 4 books): Multiple story lines and just how dark these books are make it feel like GOT. This is a little more epic quest in nature, but there are still politics and familial relations that make some storylines. Be prepared to be gutted by deaths (sound familiar?). Oh, and there is a big ass wolf too.

Shadowmarch by Tad Williams (Shadowmarch series – 4 books): Twins are forced to lead as their family is either killed or captured. Their lands stand at the edge of the Shadowline and the darkness is expanding. They are stuck between forces like a crazy god-like king and immortal beings. So darkness, impossible odds, some crazy family business and multiple factions make this a fit for a GOT fan.

The Black Prism by Brent Weeks (Lightbringer series – 5 books – 4 published so far): This series is more magic based than GOT but the politicking is where it shines. There are also many grey characters, as in, you just can’t decide if they are good or evil. Plus there are characters that you love to hate.

The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett (Demon Cycle – 5 books – 4 published so far): Human numbers are dwindling as demons kill them with impunity. But there are some that fight back. Two men that used to be friends are now on different sides of the human battle. This book has betrayal, a fascinating magic system that has fallen to the wayside, and women that are more than they appear.

Get your Game of Thrones fix with these 4 books! Click To Tweet

What books would you recommend for a Game of Thrones fan?

Linking up: Jana Says


 

Share:

20 thoughts on “4 Books like Game of Thrones

  1. Kristen @ SYIAP

    i tried to read the game of thrones books and got about half way through the first one before giving up. i don’t mind multiple POVs but i hated how long it was until you got back to the previous POVs, you know? i’m sure i’ll try another time. added all of these to my list!

  2. Ashley @ Wandering Weekenders

    I absolutely hate the waiting game when it comes to GOT! I was doing ok as far as reading the books and then watching the series, and then last season all of it didn’t matter. All of these sound really interesting, and I think that I’ll probably end up adding Malice to my list for sure!

    1. Alison @ Puppies & Pretties

      Ugh, I know! There was a couple times when my husband turned to me and said “did you know that would happen?!” and of course I didn’t. Come on GRR Martin! Malice is a really good one, plus all the books are out so no waiting game 🙂

Comments are closed.